A guide to shared channels

Shared channels let two separate organizations work together in a single channel, each from their own Slack workspace. Here's what members of the same shared channel can do: 

  • Send and read messages in the channel
  • Exchange direct messages with other members
  • Upload files, and use apps and integrations


Who can create shared channels

Shared channels are available on the Standard, Plus, and Enterprise Grid plans. Everyone (except guests) can send and accept an invitation to share a channel with another organization.

Before a channel is shared, the request to share the channel needs to be approved by someone with permission to manage shared channels from both organizations. View Create shared channels to learn more.

 

How to work in shared channels

Shared channels are a lot like other channels in Slackbut there are some differences to keep in mind. Here’s what to expect when you work in a shared channel.


Identify a shared channel

A shared channel will have a  diamond icon next to the channel name, and the external organization's name will appear above the message field.Context_bar.png

 

View a member's profile and status

Members of a shared channel can see each other’s full profiles and profile photos. When working with external members, you'll see their organization's Slack icon on their profile photos, and they'll see yours too. Keep in mind that only members of your workspace can see if you’ve set a status in Slack.Discussions_in_shared_channel.png


Manage channel details

A shared channel is a common place for two separate organizations to work together, but each workspace can have a different channel name, topic, purpose, and decide if the channel is public or private.


Use custom emoji

Members of the other workspace in your shared channel can only see your workspace’s custom emoji when they’re used as emoji reactions. Members outside of your workspace won’t see your custom emoji in their emoji picker or be able to see them if included in a message.


Use apps and integrations

You can use apps and integrations in shared channels just like any other channel. All members can see messages from bots and apps, and even message another workspace’s bot user if it’s been added to the channel.

Keep in mind that your slash commands will only work in your workspace, and that members of the other organization can't use Actions for apps and third-party tools that have been connected to your workspace.

 

Shared channels and Enterprise Key Management (EKM)

Enterprise Key Management customers will be able to use shared channels; however, messages and files sent in shared channels are not currently encryptable using your own keys.

Messages and files in all other channels within Slack will still be encrypted using your keys. Once EKM becomes supported across shared channels, EKM will retroactively apply to all your messages and files in shared channels.

Related Articles

Recently Viewed Articles