Legacy Client

New Client

Manage session duration

For added security, you can limit how long your members are signed in to Slack on their desktop (we call this a session duration). When you set a session duration, your members will have to sign back in periodically. ⏳

Note: Session duration only applies to the Slack on the desktop app and in a web browser. With session duration turned on, members won't be signed out of their Slack mobile apps.

Set up session duration

Standard and Plus plans

Enterprise Grid plan

  1. From your desktop, click your workspace name in the top left.
  2. Select Settings & administration from the menu, then click Workspace settings.
  3. Click Authentication.
  4. Next to Session Duration, click Expand.
  5. Select how much time should elapse before requiring members to sign back in.
  6. Click Save.
  1. From your desktop, click your workspace name in the top left.
  2. Select Settings & administration from the menu, then click Organization settings.
  3. Click  Security in the left column, then select Security Settings.
  4. Next to Session Duration, click Enable.
  5. Select how much time should elapse before requiring members to re-authenticate.
  6. Click Enable.

Note: Any changes to session duration will take effect the next time a member ends their current session and signs back in to Slack.

Who can use this feature?
  • Workspace Owners/Admins and Org Owners/Admins
  • Standard, Plus, and Enterprise Grid plans

Related Articles

Recently Viewed Articles