Legacy Client

New Client

Edit message retention settings for specific conversations

By default, Slack will retain all messages for the lifetime of your workspace. Workspace Owners and Org Owners can adjust retention settings for individual public channels. If permitted, members can also set a custom message retention period for private channels and direct messages (DMs) that they’re a part of. These retention settings for individual conversations can be shorter or longer than the workspace or org-wide message retention setting.

What to expect

Caution! Message deletion is permanent. Please use care when setting up retention policies. 

Set message retention for a specific channel or DM

  1. From your desktop, open the conversation whose retention settings you'd like to configure.
  2. Click the channel or member name(s) in the conversation header.
  3. Click the Settings tab.
  4. Hover over Message retention and click Edit
  5. Select Use custom retention settings for this conversation
  6. Choose how long you'd like to save messages, then click Save Changes

 

A Slackbot message will post to the conversation to confirm the updated retention settings.

Tip: On the Business+ and Enterprise Grid plans, owners and admins with permission can manage retention settings for channels with channel management tools.

Who can use this feature?
  • Workspace Owners and Org Owners can make this feature available to all members (but not guests
  • Available on paid plans

Related Articles

Recently Viewed Articles