Legacy Client

New Client

Manage Slack Connect channels

Slack Connect lets you work with people from other companies in channels. Read on to learn how owners, admins, and members who have been granted permission can manage Slack Connect channels.

Ways to manage channels


Approve or deny requests for channels

Depending on workspace settings, each company may need to approve a request to work together in a channel. Anyone with permission can approve or deny requests using the steps below.

  1. From your desktop, click your workspace name in the top left.
  2. Select Settings & administration from the menu, then click Manage Slack Connect.
  3. Click the Requests tab on the left.
  4. Next to the channel name, select Approve or Deny.

An invitation will expire if it's not accepted and approved within 14 days. Expired invitations will display below any pending requests.


Choose custom approval settings for specific organizations

Owners and admins can decide whether requests to work in channels with other companies need approval. Those with permission can override the existing setting and choose different approval settings for specific organizations. Requests may still need approval from the other company, depending on their settings.

Pro and Business+ plans

Enterprise Grid plan

Workspace Owners, Workspace Admins, and members with permission can choose custom approval settings for specific organizations:
  1. From your desktop, click your workspace name in the top left.
  2. Select Settings & administration from the menu, then click Manage Slack Connect.
  3. Select the Organizations tab on the left.
  4. Next to the organization you'd like to set custom approval for, click the
     three dots icon and select Edit approval settings.
  5. Click Custom, then select an option from the menu.
  6. Click Save to confirm.
Org Owners and Org Admins can choose custom approval settings for specific organizations:
  1. From your desktop, click your workspace name in the top left.
  2. Select Settings & administration from the menu, then click Organization settings.
  3. Click  Slack Connect in the left sidebar.
  4. Next to the organization you'd like to set custom approval for, click the
     three dots icon and select Edit approval settings.
  5. Click Custom, then select an option from the menu.
  6. Click Save to confirm.


Revoke invitations for channels

You can revoke any invitation sent by someone from your company before it’s been accepted.

  1. From your desktop, click your workspace name in the top left.
  2. Select Settings & administration from the menu, then click Manage Slack Connect.
  3. Click the Pending invitations tab on the left.
  4. Next to the channel name, click Revoke.
  5. Click Revoke to confirm.

Tip: To revoke all pending invitations for your workspace, click Revoke All in the top right.


View channels you're working in with other organizations

Pro and Business+ plans

Enterprise Grid plan

  1. From your desktop, click your workspace name in the top left.
  2. Select Settings & administration from the menu, then click Manage Slack Connect.
  3. Select the Organizations tab on the left.
  4. Next to an organization name, click the  three dots icon.
  5. Select View shared channels.

Org level

Org Owners and Org Admins can see all channels with other organizations in their Enterprise Grid org:

  1. From your desktop, click your workspace name in the top left.
  2. Select Settings & administration from the menu, then click Organization settings.
  3. Click  Slack Connect in the left sidebar.

Workspace level

Workspace Owners and Workspace Admins can see all channels with other organizations in workspaces they manage:

  1. From your desktop, click your workspace name in the top left.
  2. Select Settings & administration from the menu, then click Manage Slack Connect.
  3. Select the Organizations tab on the left.
  4. Next to an organization name, click the  three dots icon.
  5. Select View shared channels.

Note: For private channels, you’ll only see the names of those you’re a member of.


Stop working in channels with other organizations 

When you wrap up a project, your organization can leave the channel (or, if your organization owns the channel, you can remove the other company). To end all communication in Slack, you can disconnect from an organization you've been working with.

 

Who can use this feature?
  • Workspace Owners/Admins and members with permission (Pro and Business+), Org Owners/Admins and members with permission (Enterprise Grid)
  • Available on paid plans

Related Articles

Recently Viewed Articles