Legacy Client

New Client

Manage file uploads for Slack Connect

Slack Connect is a secure way to collaborate across companies — right in Slack. If they’d like, owners and admins can manage their members' ability to upload and
share files in channels and DMs with people from other companies.


Manage file upload permissions

Pro and Business+ plans

Enterprise Grid plan

By default, members can upload and share files in channels and DMs with people from other companies. Workspace Owners and Workspace Admins can adjust this permission:

  1. From your desktop, click your workspace name in the top left.
  2. Select Settings & administration from the menu, then click Workspace settings.
  3. Click the Permissions tab.
  4. Next to File uploads for Slack Connect, click Expand.
  5. Check or uncheck the box to manage file uploads.
  6. Click Save.

Org level

By default, members can upload and share files in channels and DMs with people from other companies. Org Owners and Org Admins can enable or disable this permission for their organization. They can also choose whether Workspace Owners and Workspace Admins can enable or disable file uploads for individual workspace(s).

  1. From your desktop, click your workspace name in the top left.
  2. Select Settings & administration, then click Organization settings.
  3. Click  Slack Connect in the left sidebar, then select Settings.
  4. Next to File uploads, click Edit.
  5. Check or uncheck the box next to Enable. Then select an option below Who can control this setting?
  6. Click Save Setting.


Workspace level

If permission hasn’t been restricted at the org level, Workspace Owners and Workspace Admins can manage file upload permissions for their workspace(s):

  1. From your desktop, click your workspace name in the top left.
  2. Select Settings & administration from the menu, then click Workspace settings.
  3. Click the Permissions tab.
  4. Next to File uploads for Slack Connect, click Expand.
  5. Check or uncheck the box to manage file uploads.
  6. Click Save.
Who can use this feature?
  • Workspace Owners/Admins and Org Owners/Admins
  • Available on paid plans

Related Articles

Recently Viewed Articles