Legacy Client

New Client

Rename a channel

A channel’s name lets people know what it’s used for. If the purpose of a channel changes at any point in time, it can be renamed. Workspace Owners and Admins can rename any public channel (including the #general channel) and private channels they’ve joined. Members can rename any channel they’ve created.

Note: On the Business+ and Enterprise Grid plans, owners and admins with permission can rename channels with channel management tools.

Rename a channel

Use the steps below to rename a channel. If you’d like to rename an archived channel, you’ll first need to unarchive it

Desktop

iOS

Android

  1. Open the channel you'd like to rename.
  2. Click the channel name in the channel header.
  3. Click the Settings tab.
  4. Hover over the channel name and click Edit
  5. Enter a new name, then click Save Changes
  1. Open the channel you’d like to rename.
  2. Tap the channel name at the top.
  3. Tap Edit.
  4. Tap the channel name, then enter a new name.
  5. Tap Done.
  1. Open the channel you’d like to rename.
  2. Tap the channel name at the top.
  3. Tap EDIT.
  4. Tap the channel name, then enter a new name.
  5. Tap SAVE.

Note: In an Enterprise Grid organization, only owners and admins can rename multi-workspace channels.

Who can use this feature?
  • Workspace OwnersWorkspace Admins, and sometimes members
  • Available on all plans

Related Articles

Recently Viewed Articles