Legacy Client

New Client

Remove someone from a channel

Slack organizes conversations into dedicated spaces called channels. When someone no longer needs to be a part of a channel, they can be removed. By default, Workspace Owners and Admins can remove people from public channels, and members can remove people from private channels.

What to expect

  • Anyone can be removed from a channel by those with permission.
  • All members and guests need to be added back to a private channel to rejoin it, and guests also need to be added back to a public channel to rejoin it.

Note: Workspace Owners and Org Owners can restrict who has permission to remove people from channels. If you're unable to remove someone from a channel, find an owner and ask for help.


Remove people from channels

When you remove someone from a channel, Slackbot will notify that person.

Desktop

Mobile

  1. Open the channel you'd like to remove someone from.
  2. Click the cluster of profile pictures in the top right.
  3. Find the person you'd like to remove and click their name.
  4. Below their profile information, click Remove from [channel name].
  5. Click Yes, remove them to confirm.
  1. Tap the channel you'd like to remove someone from.
  2. Type /remove @member in the message field.
  3. Tap the   paper plane icon.

Note: It's not possible to remove people from the #general channel.

Who can use this feature?
  • By default, Workspace Owners, Workspace Admins, and members
  • Available on all plans

Related Articles

Recently Viewed Articles