Legacy Client

New Client

Edit or delete messages

Mistkaes Mistakes sometimes happen. Fortunately, members can edit and delete the messages they send in Slack (if allowed by Workspace Owners and Admins). Workspace Owners and Admins can also delete messages in public channels and private channels they've joined.

Before getting started


Edit a message

If your workspace's settings permit you to edit messages, use the steps below.

Desktop

iOS

Android

  1. Hover over the message you’d like to edit.
  2. Click the  More actions icon.
  3. Click Edit message.
  4. Select Save Changes to finish.

Tip: Use Cmd (Mac) or Ctrl (Windows/Linux) to quickly edit your last message.

  1. Tap and hold on the message you’d like to edit.
  2. Tap Edit Message and make your changes.
  3. Tap Save to finish.
  1. Tap and hold on the message you’d like to edit.
  2. Tap Edit and make your changes.
  3. Tap the   check mark icon to finish.


Delete a message

If your workspace's settings permit deleting messages, use the steps below to delete individual messages. 

Desktop

iOS

Android

  1. Hover over the message you’d like to delete.
  2. Click the  More actions icon.
  3. Click Delete message.
  4. Select Delete to confirm.

Tip: Delete your most recent message with Cmd (Mac) or Ctrl (Windows/Linux): delete the text, hit Enter, then Delete to confirm.

  1. Tap and hold on the message you’d like to delete.
  2. Tap Delete Message.
  3. Tap Yes, Delete the Message to confirm.
  1. Tap and hold on the message you’d like to delete.
  2. Tap Delete message.
  3. Tap Delete again to confirm.

Note: While you can't bulk delete, all Workspace Owners and Admins can delete a channel. Workspace Owners on paid plans can set a retention policy to automatically delete messages after a certain amount of time.

Who can use this feature?
  • All members (default), but Workspace Owners and Admins can set different permissions
  • Free, Standard, Plus, and Enterprise Grid plans 

Because mistkaes mistakes sometimes happen, it’s possible to edit and delete messages in Slack. If allowed by their Workspace Owners and Admins, members can edit and delete the messages they send. Workspace Owners and Admins can delete anyone’s messages in public channels, and in private channels they've joined.

Before getting started

  • It's not possible to bulk delete messages.
  • Message deletion is permanent, so please delete with care!
  • Channel messages from bots created for your workspace can be deleted by Workspace Owners and Admins.

Note: Workspace Owners and Admins can set message editing and deletion permissions for members. If you don't see the option to edit or delete a message, contact an Owner or Admin for help.


Edit a message

If your workspace settings permit you to edit messages, follow the steps below.

Desktop

iOS

Android

  1. Hover over the message you’d like to edit.
  2. Click the  three dots icon.
  3. Click Edit message.
  4. Select Save Changes to finish.
  1. Tap and hold the message you’d like to edit.
  2. Tap  Edit Message and make your changes.
  3. Tap the  check mark icon to finish.
  1. Tap and hold the message you’d like to edit.
  2. Tap  Edit Message and make your changes.
  3. Tap the  check mark icon to finish.


Delete a message

If your workspace settings permit you to delete your messages, use the steps below. 

Desktop

iOS

Android

  1. Hover over the message you’d like to delete.
  2. Click the  three dots icon.
  3. Click Delete message.
  4. Select Delete to confirm.
  1. Tap and hold the message you’d like to delete.
  2. Tap  Delete Message.
  3. Tap Delete Message again to confirm.
  1. Tap and hold the message you’d like to delete.
  2. Tap  Delete message.
  3. Tap Delete again to confirm.

Note: While you can't bulk delete, all Workspace Owners and Admins can delete a channel. Workspace Owners on paid plans can set a retention policy to automatically delete messages after a certain amount of time.

Who can use this feature?
  • All members (default), but Workspace Owners and Workspace Admins can set different permissions
  • Free, Standard, Plus, and Enterprise Grid plans

Related Articles

Recently Viewed Articles