Legacy Client

New Client

Deactivate your Slack account

Ready to leave a workspace for good? You can deactivate your account at any time.

What to expect

  • Messages and files you've sent won’t be deleted. If your workspace settings allow it, you can delete messages and files before deactivating your account.
  • Primary Workspace Owners can't deactivate their accounts. They must first transfer primary ownership to someone else.
  • Apps you've installed may be disabled. A Workspace Owner will be able to manage and re-enable them.
  • If you're a member of more than one workspace, you'll need to deactivate each account separately.

Note: In an Enterprise Grid org, you won’t see the option to deactivate your account if membership is required for your workspace or if you’re a guest. We recommend finding an owner or admin to ask for help.


Deactivate your account

  1. From your desktop, click your profile picture in the top right.
  2. Select Profile from the menu.
  3. Click More, then select Account settings.
  4. Scroll down to Deactivate account, then click Deactivate your account.
  5. Enter your password and select Confirm Password.
  6. Click Yes, deactivate my account


Your account will be deactivated immediately. If you'd like to return to this workspace in the future, a Workspace Owner or Workspace Admin will need to reactivate your account.


Delete your profile information

To delete your profile information, contact the Workspace Primary Owner after deactivating your account. Workspace Primary Owners can contact Slack on your behalf to have your profile information removed. 

Related Articles

Recently Viewed Articles