Legacy Client

New Client

Deactivate a member's account

Owners and admins can deactivate members' accounts. Keep in mind that your role in Slack will determine the types of accounts you’re able to deactivate.

Tip: See our Fair Billing Policy to learn how deactivated member accounts affect billing. 


Who can deactivate member accounts

Locate your owner or admin role in the table below to see the types of accounts you can deactivate. 

Free, Pro, and Business+ plans

Enterprise Grid plan

  Workspace Admins Workspace Owners Workspace Primary Owner
Deactivate members and guests
Deactivate Workspace Admins  
Deactivate Workspace Owners    
Deactivate a Workspace Primary Owner*      


*No one can deactivate the Workspace Primary Owner. To deactivate this person, the Primary Owner must transfer ownership to someone else.

 

Org-level permissions 

  Org Admins Org Owners Org Primary Owner
Deactivate members and guests
Deactivate Workspace Admins and Owners  
Deactivate a Workspace Primary Owner*      
Deactivate Org Owners and Admins      
Deactivate a Primary Org Owner*      


*No one can deactivate the Org Primary Owner or a Workspace Primary Owner. To deactivate these accounts, they must transfer ownership to someone else.


Workspace-level permissions

  Workspace Admins Workspace Owners Workspace Primary Owner
Deactivate members and guests
Deactivate Workspace Admins  
Deactivate Workspace Owners    
Deactivate a Workspace Primary Owner**      


**No one can deactivate the Workspace Primary Owner. To deactivate this person, the Primary Owner must transfer ownership to someone else.


Deactivate someone's account

People aren't notified when their accounts are deactivated, nor are their messages or files deleted. They'll be be signed out of your workspace(s) on all devices, and unable to sign back in. Some apps may also be disabled when certain accounts are deactivated. If you change your mind, you can reactivate an account

Free, Pro, and Business+ plans

Enterprise Grid plan

Review the permissions above, then use the steps below to deactivate someone's account.

  1. From your desktop, click your workspace name in the top left.
  2. Select Settings & administration from the menu, then click Manage members.
  3. Click the  three dots icon to the right of the member you’d like to deactivate.
  4. Select Deactivate account.

Review the permissions above, then use the steps below to remove someone from a workspace or deactivate an account.


Remove someone from a workspace

On the Enterprise Grid plan, accounts can’t be deactivated at the workspace level, but people can be removed from workspaces. Keep in mind that anyone you remove from your workspace will remain part of the Enterprise Grid org.

Here’s how to remove someone:

  1. From your desktop, click your workspace name in the top left.
  2. Select Settings & administration from the menu, then click Manage members.
  3. Click the  three dots icon to the right of the member you’d like to remove.
  4. Select Remove from workspace.


Deactivate an account

On the Enterprise Grid plan, you can only deactivate an account at the org level. Anyone you deactivate will be removed from channels, signed out of all workspaces, and removed from your org. Use the steps below to deactivate an account:

  1. From your desktop, click your workspace name in the top left.
  2. Select Settings & administration from the menu, then click Organization settings.
  3. Click  People in the left sidebar, then select Members
  4. Check the box next to any members you'd like to deactivate.
  5. Click Deactivate above the list of members.
Who can use this feature?
  • Workspace Owners/Admins or Org Owners/Admins
  • Available on all plans

Related Articles

Recently Viewed Articles