Legacy Client

New Client

Create a user group

A user group is a group of members in a workspace who often need to be notified at once. You can mention a group's unique name — for example, @managers — the same way you @mention another member of your workspace. 

What to expect

  • When you mention a user group, you’ll notify everyone in the group.
  • You can set up to 100 default channels when creating a user group so members are added to those channels automatically. You can also add the user group to channels the same way you would add an individual member.
  • In an Enterprise Grid organization, user groups are unique to each workspace, and can’t be accessed across all workspaces in the org.
  • Workspace Owners and Admins can manage user groups permissions for their workspace. If you don’t see the option to create or edit user groups, an admin has limited access to this feature.

 

Create a user group

  1. From your desktop, click  People & user groups at the top of your left sidebar. If you don't see it, you can find it by clicking  More
  2. Click  New User Group in the top right.
  3. Choose a name and handle for your user groupIf you’d like, set a purpose or select default channels that members will be added to.
  4. Click Next.
  5. Under Add members, search for and select the members you’d like to add.
  6. When you’re done, click Create Group.

Keep in mind that user group names must be unique. If a name is already in use as a channel name, display name, or another user group's name, it won't be available.

Note: Guests don't have full access to all channels in your workspace, so they can’t be added to user groups.

 

Edit a user group

Add or remove members

  1. From your desktop, click   People & user groups at the top of your left sidebar. If you don't see it, you can find it by clicking  More
  2. Select the User groups tab at the top of the screen. 
  3. Click on a user group, then select Edit Members.


Manage user groups

  1. From your desktop, click  People & user groups at the top of your left sidebar. If you don't see it, you can find it by clicking  More.
  2. Select the User groups tab at the top of the screen. 
  3. Click on the user group you'd like to manage, then click the  three dots icon
  4. To update your user group's details (like the name, handle, or default channels), select Edit group details from the menu. Click Save when you're finished. 
  5. To deactivate your user group, select Deactivate group. Then, click Deactivate to confirm.

Note: When you deactivate a user group, you won’t be able to mention the user group’s handle or view its members. Deactivating a user group does not delete it from your list of groups, and all members will remain in the group unless removed.

 

Browse user groups and view members

  1. From your desktop, click   People & user groups at the top of your left sidebar. If you don't see it, you can find it by clicking  More
  2. Select the User groups tab at the top of the screen.
  3. Click on any group to view its members.
Who can use this feature?
  • By default, only Workspace Owners/Admins can create and edit user groups, but they can make this feature available to all members 
  • StandardPlus, and Enterprise Grid plans

Related Articles

Recently Viewed Articles