Legacy Client

New Client

Convert a channel to private

If a channel becomes better suited for a closed audience, it can be converted to private. Private channels are best for discussions that shouldn't be open to everyone.

Keep in mind

Note: On the Business+ and Enterprise Grid plans, owners and admins can convert channels to private with channel management tools.

Convert a channel to private

When you convert a channel to private, a message will post in the channel to let members know it's been converted.

Note: Converting a channel to private is permanent and you won't be able to make it public again.

  1. From your desktop, open the channel you'd like to make private.
  2. Click the channel name in the conversation header.
  3. Select the Settings tab.
  4. Scroll down and click Change to a private channel. 
  5. Click Change to Private to confirm. 
Who can use this feature?
  • By default, Workspace Owners/Admins and Org Owners/Admins
  • Available on all plans

Related Articles

Recently Viewed Articles