The #general channel

Every Slack workspace has a #general channel. All members (except for guests) are automatically added to #general when they join a workspace, and unlike other Slack channels, no one can leave it. This makes it a great place to share important messages, like announcements, that everyone should see.


Share what’s important

All members can see anything posted in #general, so we recommend discouraging unnecessary messages. If you're a workspace Owner or Admin, use the options below to help reinforce this.

Note: The #general channel can't be converted to a private channel, or a shared channel.


Reduce noise

Although it’s not possible to leave or delete #general, members can choose to adjust their channel notification preferences.

  • Mute #general
    Members can mute activity in #general the same way they'd mute other channels.
  • Ignore channel notifications 
    Depending on the channel posting permissions set by Workspace Owners, members can adjust their channel-specific notification preferences in #general to ignore @everyone and @here notifications.

 

 

Related Articles

Recently Viewed Articles