Delete profile information from Slack

To meet global data privacy laws, including the General Data Protection Regulation (GDPR) and the California Consumer Protection Act (CCPA), the Primary Owner of a workspace or organization can delete a member’s profile information. We’ve outlined some key details below for both members and owners, but contact us if you have questions.

Some background

  • Deletion is permanent — once profile information is removed, it can't be recovered.
  • The Primary Owner of a Workspace or Org controls their workspace’s data (we call this Customer Data). This includes all of the content submitted by members, along with member profile information.
  • When members leave a workspace or org, they may have the right to request their profile information be deleted by the Primary Owner. As the data controller, the Primary Owner is responsible for determining whether profile information requires deletion.
  • The Primary Owner of a workspace or org can delete a member’s profile information after the account is deactivated. A Primary Owner can also contact Slack to request deletion assistance.

Note: We don’t recommend deleting profiles for administrative purposes, as this can impact the usability of your workspace. If a member has a duplicate account, follow the steps to fix duplicate accounts instead.


What is profile information?

When we talk about member profile information, here’s what’s included:

  • Display name
  • Full name
  • Profile picture
  • Phone numbers
  • Email address
  • Job title
  • Details from a custom profile field
  • Pronouns


The following content is not considered profile information and will not be deleted as part of a request to remove a member’s personal information:

  • A member’s message content from any channels or direct messages
  • Posts or files the member created

Note: A deactivated member’s full and display name will appear as @deactivateduser when their profile information has been deleted. Slack Atlas view-only profiles will retain the employee’s full and display name even when deleted.


For Members

A Primary Owner is responsible for determining whether profile information requires deletion. Read our User Terms of Service.

Note: If your company uses Slack Atlas, it may decide to create view-only profiles for employees that don’t use Slack. If you’d like to remove your view-only profile information from Slack, contact your company’s Slack admins.

Request to delete your profile information

Free, Pro, and Business+ plans

Enterprise Grid plan

Depending on whether or not you still have access to your workspace, you have two options for submitting your request.

Option 1: Contact the Workspace Primary Owner

  1. Visit your Workspace Settings to confirm your Workspace Primary Owner's contact information.
  2. Deactivate your account.
  3. Ask the Workspace Primary Owner to delete your profile information.
  4. When the Workspace Primary Owner deletes your profile, this will remove your name, email address, and other personally identifiable information from the workspace.

Option 2: Contact Slack

If you're unable to get in touch with the Workspace Primary Owner, we can help with forwarding the request on your behalf.

  1. Send us a note at feedback@slack.com. To help us locate your account, include the following information:
    • Your workspace URL
    • The email address associated with your Slack account
  2. We'll forward your request to the Workspace Primary Owner.
  3. The Workspace Primary Owner can then delete your profile to remove your name, email address, and other personally identifiable information from the workspace.

If you're part of an Enterprise Grid organization, you can contact your Org Primary Owner to request that they delete your profile. If you need help identifying the Org Primary Owner, contact us so we can help direct your request to the right person.

  1. Send us a note at feedback@slack.com. To help us locate your account, include the following information:
    • Your workspace URL
    • The email address associated with your Slack account.
  2. We'll forward your request to the Org Primary Owner.
  3. The Org Primary Owner can then delete your profile to remove your name, email address, and other personally identifiable information from the workspace.

Note: A request to delete your profile information is not a guarantee that it will be deleted. Only the Primary Owner of a workspace or org can decide if they will comply with your request.


For Primary Owners

Delete profile information

Free, Pro, and Business+ plans

Enterprise Grid plan

  1. From your desktop, click your workspace name in the top left.
  2. Select Settings & administration from the menu, then click Manage members.
  3. Click the  three dots icon next to the profile you'd like to delete.
  4. Select Delete profile. Note that you'll only see this option if the member's profile has already been deactivated.
  5. Check the box and select Delete profile to confirm.
  1. From your desktop, click your workspace name in the top left.
  2. Select Settings & administration from the menu, then click Organization settings.
  3. Click  People in the left sidebar, then select Members
  4. Select View Deactivated Members in the top right.
  5. Click the  three dots icon next to the profile you'd like to delete.
  6. Select Delete profile.
  7. Check the box and select Delete profile to confirm.

Note: If your company uses Slack Atlas and you need to delete information from view-only profiles, you can do so with SCIM.

Related Articles

Recently Viewed Articles