Legacy Client

New Client

Manage channel posting permissions

Channel members can limit who can post to the channel they’re in, making it read-only for everyone else. This helps large announcement channels stay on topic and free from distraction.

 Channel posting permissions by plan 

  • Free and Standard plans
    Posting permissions can only be set for the #general channel. By default, anyone can manage this channel's posting permissions, unless restricted by a Workspace Owner or Admin.
  • Plus plan
    Posting permissions can be set for any channel, except for channels that are shared with an external organization. Anyone on the workspace can manage a channel's setting.
  • Enterprise Grid plan
    Posting permissions can be set for any channel, except for channels that are shared with an external organization. By default, anyone can manage a channel's posting permissions, unless restricted by administrators.

Note: Only Org Owners and Admins on the Enterprise Grid plan can manage channel posting permissions for multi-workspace channels.


Set channel posting permissions

First, review the channel posting permissions by plan above to see if you have access to this setting. Once someone sets posting permissions for a channel, only that person, an Owner, or an Admin can override that setting.

  1. Open a channel.
  2. Click the   gear icon to open the Channel Settings menu.
  3. Click Manage posting permissions
  4. Choose who can post in the channel and if you want to allow message threads.

Note: Workspace Owners and Admins always have channel posting permissions, unless they're in multi-workspace channels.


Restrict who can manage channel posting permissions

Plus plan

Enterprise Grid plan

On the Plus plan, Workspace Owners and Admins can decide who can manage channel posting permissions for their workspace: 

  1. From your desktop, click your workspace name in the top left.
  2. Click Administration, then Workspace settings.
  3. Go to the Permissions tab.
  4. Scroll down to Channel management and click Expand.
  5. Choose who can manage channel permissions. 

Workspace level

Workspace Owners and Admins can decide who can manage channel posting permissions for channels that are just in their workspace: 

  1. From your desktop, click your workspace name in the top left.
  2. Click Administration, then Workspace settings.
  3. Go to the Permissions tab.
  4. Scroll down to Channel management and click Expand.
  5. Choose who can manage channel permissions. 

Org level

Org Owners can set org-wide policies to specify who can manage channel posting permissions:

  1. From your desktop, click your workspace name in the top left.
  2. Click Administration, then Organization settings.
  3. Click  Settings, then Organization Policies from the Admin Dashboard.
  4. Under the Permissions tab, click the  pencil icon next to Channel Management Restrictions.
  5. Under Who can manage posting permissions in channels, select an option from the menu:
    All members and guests or Workspace Admins and Owners only.
  6. Click Save Policy when you're done.

Tip: Default org-wide channels contain all members of your org and posting is restricted to Owners and Admins only. 

Who can use this feature?
  • All members and guests can manage a channel's posting permissions, unless restricted by an Owner or Admin
  • Free, Standard, Plus, and Enterprise Grid plans

Channel members can limit who can post to the channel they’re in, making it read-only for everyone else. This helps large announcement channels stay on topic and free from distraction.

 Channel posting permissions by plan 

  • Free and Standard plans
    Posting permissions can only be set for the #general channel. By default, anyone can manage this channel's posting permissions, unless restricted by a Workspace Owner or Admin.
  • Plus plan
    Posting permissions can be set for any channel, except for channels that are shared with an external organization. By default, anyone can manage a channel's posting permissions, unless restricted by administrators.
  • Enterprise Grid plan
    Posting permissions can be set for any channel, except for channels that are shared with an external organization. By default, anyone can manage a channel's posting permissions, unless restricted by administrators.

Note: Only Org Owners and Admins on the Enterprise Grid plan can manage channel posting permissions for multi-workspace channels.


Set channel posting permissions

First, review the channel posting permissions by plan above to see if you have access to this setting. Once someone sets posting permissions for a channel, only that person, an Owner, or an Admin can override that setting.

  1. From your desktop, open a channel.
  2. Click   Details in the top right, then click   More.
  3. Click Manage posting permissions
  4. Choose who can post in the channel and if you want to allow message threads.

Note: Workspace Owners and Admins always have channel posting permissions, unless they're in multi-workspace channels.


Restrict who can manage channel posting permissions

Plus plan

Enterprise Grid plan

On the Plus plan, Workspace Owners and Admins can decide who can manage channel posting permissions for their workspace: 

  1. From your desktop, click your workspace name in the top left.
  2. Select Settings & administration from the menu, then click Workspace settings.
  3. Go to the Permissions tab.
  4. Scroll down to Channel management and click Expand.
  5. Choose who can manage channel posting permissions. 

Org level

Org Owners can set an org policy to specify who can manage channel posting permissions:

  1. From your desktop, click your workspace name in the top left.
  2. Select Settings & administration from the menu, then click Organization settings.
  3. Click  Settings in the left column, then select Organization Policies.
  4. Select the Permissions tab.
  5. Next to Channel Management Restrictions, click Add Policy
  6. Under Who can manage posting permissions in channels, select an option from the drop-down menu.
  7. Click Save Policy, then Confirm Policy.

Workspace level

Workspace Owners and Admins can decide who can manage channel posting permissions for channels that are just in their workspace: 

  1. From your desktop, click your workspace name in the top left.
  2. Select Settings & administration from the menu, then click Workspace settings.
  3. Go to the Permissions tab.
  4. Scroll down to Channel management and click Expand.
  5. Choose who can manage channel posting permissions. 

Tip: In default org-wide channels, posting is restricted to Owners and Admins only. 

Who can use this feature?
  • Org Owners/Admins, Workspace Owners/Adminsmembers, and guests
  • Free, Standard, Plus, and Enterprise Grid plans

Related Articles

Recently Viewed Articles