Legacy Client

New Client

Add people from other companies to a channel

With Slack Connect, you can invite people outside your company to join a channel in your workspace — perfect for using Slack to communicate with clients or vendors, for example. To get started, you’ll need to send an invitation to someone from each company you’d like to work with. People will only have access to channels in your workspace they’ve been invited to join.

What to expect

  • You can work with up to 19 other companies in a single channel. Someone from each company will have to accept the invitation before you can start working together. Each company you invite must be using one of Slack's paid plans.
  • Invitations expire after 14 days. If this happens, you can send a new one. 
  • Admins can restrict who can invite people from other companies to channels. If you don’t see this option, find an owner or admin and ask for help.

Note: If your team would benefit from working with more than 19 other organizations, reach out to us — we’d love to learn more!


Add external people to a channel

You can create a new channel, or invite external people to any existing channel (except for the #general channel). When people join an existing channel, they’ll be able to see the message history, member list, and any apps or bots.

Desktop

iOS

Android

  1. Create a new channel, or open the channel you'd like to invite people to.
  2. Click the channel name in the conversation header.
  3. Click the Settings tab. Below Slack Connect, click Work With Another Company.
  4. Enter the email address or name for anyone you’d like to send an invitation to, then click Done
  1. Create a new channel, or open the channel you'd like to invite external people to.
  2. Tap the channel name at the top.
  3. Tap  Additional Options.
  4. Tap Add people with Slack Connect.
  5. Tap Share a Link or Choose from Contacts.
  6. Tap Done.
  1. Create a new channel, or open the channel you'd like to invite external people to.
  2. Tap the channel name at the top.
  3. Scroll down to Advanced, then tap Share this channel.
  4. Tap Share a Link or Choose from Contacts.
  5. Tap Done.


Revoke invitations

To revoke an invitation you’ve sent before it’s been accepted, use the steps below.

  1. From your desktop, click  Slack Connect at the top of your left sidebar. If you don't see this option, click  More to find it.
  2. Click the Sent tab at the top of the page.
  3. Hover over the invitation you’d like to revoke and click the  revoke icon.

Tip: If you have permission, you can revoke any invitation sent by someone from your company before it’s been accepted.


What's next?

  • The people you've invited can accept the invitation if they have permission.

  • Depending on each company’s Slack settings, an admin may need to approve your request to work together in a channel.

Tip: You can book a free 20 minute call with a Slack expert to help you get started working with people outside your company.

Who can use this feature?
  • By default, all members (but not guests)
  • Available on paid plans

Related Articles

Recently Viewed Articles